All That Lives

Cover image for All That Lives, book twelve in the Inspector McLean series by James Oswald. Cover shows an open grave, spade handle poking out of it, orange dawn light filtering in through trees and past headstones in the background

Book Twelve in the Inspector McLean Series


An archaeological dig at the old South Leith parish kirkyard has turned up a mysterious body dating from around 700 years ago. The experts wonder if she wasn’t murdered and dumped, but some suspect that this gruesome discovery is a sacrifice, placed there for a specific purpose.

Then a second body is unearthed. This victim went missing only thirty years ago – but the similarities between her death and the ancient body’s suggest something even more disturbing.

Drawn into the investigation, McLean finds himself torn between a worrying trend of violent drug-related deaths and uncovering what truly connects these bodies. When a third body is discovered, and too close for comfort, he begins to suspect dark purpose at play – and that whoever put them there is far from finished.

Published 17 February 2022

Hardback ISBN: 9781472276209 

Read Extract button


Purchase Links:


Print – AmazonWaterstonesHive

eBook – Kindle – iBooks – Kobo – Hive

Audio – Audible – iTunes -Kobo


Print – Amazon

eBook – Kindle – Kobo – iBooks – Nook


Print – Amazon

eBook – Kindle – Kobo – iBooks – Nook